“Give ’em what they want!”

I’m taking a free WordPress Blogging University course in hopes of becoming a more effective blogger, delivering more interesting posts that generate more followers, comments, inspiration and/or community discussions. This means some hard work and today is one of the hardest.

Today’s assignment: do a basic stats analysis to help you create an editorial calendar for the next 30 days.

I used to love analytical work, but this one is a hard one. I’m not sure I am going to like my results. The end result is to help us figure out how  to create more “hits” and encourage more followers. These are not necessarily my goals or purpose in blogging. Much of it is more for my own benefit and I only hope we can inspire others in some positive way. But human nature, I can’t help but see others who have hundreds and even thousands of followers – and feel a bit jealous. What does my Bible teach me?

1 Corinthians 13:4 – Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant.

Philippians 2:3 – Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.

James 3:14-15 – But if you have bitter jealousy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast and be false to the truth. This is not the wisdom that comes down from above, but is earthly, unspiritual, demonic.

Ok, I’m over it. I’m happy for these other amazing bloggers! So now what? If I was as successful as they are, wouldn’t that create a dilemma? I’m quoting only part of a scripture, Luke 12:48 and quoted by many people in high places:

When someone has been given much, much will be required in return; and when someone has been entrusted with much, even more will be required.

Am I ready for this type of commitment? You see, my husband and I are trying to live a life of freedom! This blogging thing can become an albatross around my neck. I read so many fabulous blogs and see they have many followers….but I wonder, how on earth to they have the time to write such great blogs? And I seem to have the ever problem of keeping our internet usage under 15 GB a month (great news, Verizon just bumped me up to 18 GB for less money. Go figure.) Or occasionally being in a situation where I have plenty of free WiFi (presently, I do have for a few weeks!)

Then part 2 of this exercise is to create a calendar!?!? Geez, we can’t even begin to use a calendar as tumbleweeds! We go as the wind blows, so forget about it! No calendar for me….

Now that I have just about talked myself out of blogging, let’s take a quick look at my stats. They are a bit depressing, but does it really matter? I get lots of “likes” and a few nice comments here and there. Am I trying to impress people, or do I want to provide a service? Or do I just want to create a legacy? I know I’d sure love to read my grandparents thoughts and about their lives…and even my parents!

In the end, I really want to please our Lord and creator. So does He really care about this? I think He cares about anything that matters to us. I think He wants us to be good stewards of not only our time but our resources. So maybe I need to take a look at my stats.

First, I’ll show the stats from my personal blog, the one I really wanted to get going. It has been during my time of focus in Blogging University that I’ve discovered over 100 blogs that I really like – and now make me prefer to read about others’ lives over posting my own stories. (Sneak peak-I’ve been so moved by Cathy Lynn Brooks, who’s writing a book about the life of her daughter that ended abruptly in a car wreck. Her blog and book are, “Let me tell you Justine’s story.”  I plan to begin telling the story of people in my life who have passed on. I’ve done this once before. I’ll call mine, “Stories to be Told.”)

My personal blog stats:
Stats from my personal blog

Stats from my personal blog

our travel blog, TheTumbleLees.me:
From our travel blog, TheTumbleLees.me

From our travel blog, TheTumbleLees.me

I could do more stats analysis, but I’ve spent more time on this blog than I’d like. I’m really ready to move on and see if my new focus will help!

Please do give me some feedback! I’m really struggling….

15 thoughts on ““Give ’em what they want!”

  1. This is really good analysis. Thank you for sharing. I think I should do some analysis of my own blog. Pretty ironic considering the fact that I work as a Systems Analyst that I didnt think of doing that sooner!
    Better late than never! 🙂

  2. I think some analysis is wonderful, but I always took to heart the beginning instructions at the start of a WordPress course–participation should benefit YOU, and there’s no harm no foul if you choose not to do an assignment! Sounds like a calendar might not work for your wonderfully free-spirited lifestyle right now–you COULD just let everyone envy you for the freedom and not sorry about the calendar.

    Now there’s unsolicited advice–sorry! I enjoyed your thought process in this post very much!

    Pam

  3. Thank you Debbie for the scriptures and reminder of why we blog. I needed the reminder: “Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit…”

    I think you have articulated so meaningfully what many of us feel. I, too, can get sad or discouraged when no one seems to be reading my posts that took hours and hours to write. But in the end, I am doing this to help others who are in my situation and may need help and encouragement. If that is 1 woman, that is worth it.

    Thank you, again, for the reminder of what is important, and that is pleasing our Lord.
    Blessings,
    Melissa

  4. Debbie L. You are an encourager. I see comments from you to others which, along with your blogs, are always inspiring. Yes, I also wonder at how some folks have hundreds of thousands of readers and it is hard not to compare, BUT – I have discovered that I really like bonding with the group of people we are with. Truth to tell, I’m already beginning to spend more time at this blogging than I really should EXCEPT if it can be an encouragement to others or at least in some way be a ministry to the Lord. I look at the ones who have made comments to you – Mind and Life, pamkirst 2014, Vibrant, Melissa – and I say, “Who would I swap this group of friends for?” Well, uh, nobody. At least not a bunch of unnamed and unknown people who truthfully would not have time to read my posts. So, I guess you could say I’m not praying for you to get so big that you do not have time to read, encourage, like, and make comments. Maybe that is God’s desire for you – and me.

Leave a Reply

