Balance – one month later

I’ve done it, lasted one month with my Gratitude Journal! And I am thankful for telling my husband I am doing this. He has had to gently remind me about it when my mind/attitude drifted off course. The biggest challenge I had this first month was when our motor home was into week three in being repaired. It was supposed to only take 5 to 10 days. That meant we lost a week to visit some dear friends in Ocala, Florida and possibly see a cousin I hadn’t seen since I was a little girl. She was in Panama City Beach. These were two easy stops on our way back up north.

So to be grateful when we got the word it was going to be another week, I had to search for reasons. First, when something like that happens, one may think, “We were being spared from being in some horrific wreck.”  Or I remembered as child the saying, “there is a silver lining behind every cloud.”  But being a woman of faith, look into the Word of God and trust the Lord he has His reasons. Most times we may never know what or why things happen. This time, though, an unexpected gift dropped in my lap.

 Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.      1 Thessalonians 5:18 ESV

I have a friend living in an unfortunate situation. I really needed so see her. She was 2 1/2 hours away when we were in Sebring, and then two hours away when in Lake Wales. I missed the first opportunity to see her on January 18 when a mutual friend was going to see her. The reason? A miscommunication. I wasn’t on my gratitude journey at that time, but I did have faith. Somehow, someway I would make the trip to see her.

Then when our motorhome wasn’t done sooner, I thought there was no way I could see her now. Wouldn’t you know it, the Lord did have a plan for me. When I reached out to our mutual friend to tell her it wasn’t looking good for me to go….she then told me there was an event for our friend on February 29, Leap Day, and that it would be great if I could attend. Bill and I share a car, so I generally won’t go off in the car that long, but now I had a ride there! Talk about Leaping for Joy!💃 It was a great four hours in the car with our mutual friend and then about an hour or so with our friend. Only the Lord could have arranged this!

So let’s look in my journal. Now, the idea is to find one thing each day to be grateful for, and to not repeat what it is. To really search for something different. An example is when you hit that day you can’t find one NEW thing to be grateful for, think about something like your legs. Be grateful you can walk. When I read this with my mom, she could identify with it as she is now struggling with her walking!

My first entry on February 4, 2016 was how grateful I was to be with my mom the entire day. She was having a root canal, so how wonderful I could be there for her. After she was resting at home, I read more to her from The Gratitude Dairies and that really fired me up for this journey. While I was sort of doing it when we started reading the book a few weeks prior, it was highly recommended to buy a special journal and to write it down. So on this date, I bought my mom and I matching journals.

Today, I asked mom how her journal was going. Sadly, with her limited vision, it is not easy for her to write in it – or even see it where she will remember to write in it. I guess I’ll need to start calling her more often and just ask her what NEW thing is there in her life to be grateful for….

So let’s look at the summary of the book from Amazon:

In this New York Times bestseller, Janice Kaplan spends a year living gratefully and transforms her marriage, family life, work and health. Her pioneering reseach was praised in People and Vanity Fair and hailed on TV shows including Today, The O’Reilly Factor, and CBS’s The Talk.

On New Year’s Eve, journalist and former Parade Editor-in-Chief Janice Kaplan makes a promise to be grateful and look on the bright side of whatever happens. She realizes that how she feels over the next months will have less to do with the events that occur than her own attitude and perspective. Getting advice at every turn from psychologists, academics, doctors, and philosophers, she brings readers on a smart and witty journey to discover the value of appreciating what you have.

Relying on both amusing personal experiences and extensive research, Kaplan explores how gratitude can transform every aspect of life including marriage and friendship, money and ambition, and health and fitness. She learns how appreciating your spouse changes the neurons of your brain and why saying thanks helps CEOs succeed. Through extensive interviews with experts and lively conversations with real people including celebrities like Matt Damon, Daniel Craig, and Jerry Seinfeld, Kaplan discovers the role of gratitude in everything from our sense of fulfillment to our children’s happiness.

With warmth, humor, and appealing insight, Janice’s journey will empower readers to think positively and start living their own best year ever.

The Gratitude Diaries

This is totally unsolicited! It’s just not too often I have an opportunity to share about a book.

2 thoughts on “Balance – one month later

Leave a Reply

