President Elect Trump!

Created by my sister-n-law

Created by my sister-in-law

Needless to say, I feel triumphant about President Elect Donald Trump. I’m thankful to my dear sister in Christ, Anne, who asked me to give an update. I don’t want to gloat over it, though. You see, four years ago and eight years ago, my candidates lost. I understand the feeling of defeat and that my world would never be the same. But we survived. How many of us can say we’re capable of this:

Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.” Romans 12:15

All I can say, is, I understand! I begin voting in 1971, so this year was my 12th vote in a presidential election. Seven times, I voted for the winner and five times I voted for the loser.  So like most Americans, I have seen what it is like to win and to lose. Most of my losses were as a full time working mother, so I was voting for my daughter’s future as well. That ups the stakes when winning and losing. Our families have lost financial ground these last eight years. The worst thing we went through was when her husband was laid off as his second child was about to be born. Stories like his abound!

I am registered as an Independent or No Party Affiliation.  I have voted for both Democrats and Republicans. But it is no secret, I am a fundamental, evangelical Christian. That means I believe God is the Creator of the Universe, Jesus is the Son of God, born of the Virgin Mary, was crucified, died for the sins of the world, and rose again on the third day. After He AROSE, He walked on earth for 40 days, then He ascended into heaven where He now sits at the right hand of the Father and Holy Spirit, in the Holy Trinity. It is by faith I believe this! He plucked me out of darkness and gave me a new life when I needed it most. I am not a Bible thumper, but I do read my Bible daily. It feeds my soul, keeps me grounded, it is how I commune with Jesus….but I am still such a sinner that needs His grace!

I am college educated, with a Masters of Science Degree (in Criminal Justice). I hold the distinct honor of being only one of two in my college cohort of maintaining a straight A for all 18 credits.  I am not one of those whose grades come easily. I nearly failed the 7th grade. I was tutored. I had to work hard to make every B I could in high school. I was not really college material – my dad said he raised us three girls to be “help mates.” I took all business classes in high school and was set to become a secretary and then find me a husband….until the beginning of my senior year. Then all of a sudden, my best friend who made straight As without blinking an eye, got accepted into college, and then another and then another. I said, “why not me?” So I buckled down and for the first time, made the Principals List for all As and Bs.

I had to work to support myself. I was daddy’s little girl, the baby of the family. But when I was about 12 or 13, I learned my dad was not perfect. He was a functioning alcoholic. He brought home a paycheck while mom stayed home. I lived in a tumultuous household, where I began to pray my mom would leave my dad. I was very confused. I got caught up in the anti-establishment era that started in 1969, during the Viet Nam War. My dad was a WWII decorated war hero and served this wonderful country for 20 more years as an Officer in the US Air Force. But his demons, so beautifully explained in Unbroken, by Laura Hillenbrand, about a WWII bombardier – were the same as my dads. He returned home and became an alcoholic and gambler.

So I gave all that background to say, my dad also was a gambler. I think a brutal war’s effects on young men will have this effect. So while dad was able to have an honorable career, he also gambled much of his salary away, giving my mom an allowance to pay the bills and put food on the tables. There just was no money to help me attend college. So I got a job my senior year of high school and began to save. Then I worked while in college to support myself….

Just this little bit of a background is important to know where I am coming from in my support of President Elect Donald Trump. It goes to my core. I am a woman of faith. I have had to work hard an overcome obstacles for what I have and my husband’s story is just as interesting. Both of our dads were second generation immigrants. We know and understand what our grandparents suffered to come to this great country, on my side, they fled communism and on Bill’s side, they fled starvation.

When Donald Trump first announced he was running, my husband was on board with him – after he learned about his three adult children. Not me, I went for Ted Cruz right away, although I loved Dr. Ben Carson – he was just too nice and I didn’t think he had the political will to stand up to the establishment. See, we were not only not happy with the Obama Administration, we were really unhappy with the Republican establishment. Ted Cruz was in their face! And he has the same faith I have.

We do believe in the two party system. We have seen attempts at a third party. It just won’t work in our democracy. But we needed a maverick, someone who could represent an establishment, but yet take them on at the same time. After Ted Cruz lost, I had no where to turn, so I began to learn about Donald Trump.

He is an imperfect human being who has made many mistakes. As have I and my husband. The Bible has the perfect example of how we are to treat those who may have committed adultery or any sin. In His days on earth, public stoning was an approved punishment. A prostitute was drug before Jesus, the crowd ready to stone her. He was being tested, he was kneeling down, writing or doodling in the sand:

….And as they continued to ask him, he stood up and said to them, “Let him who is without sin among you be the first to throw a stone at her.” John 8:7

We’ve focused on the positive things President Elect Donald Trump has done in his life.  I worked in a predominately male profession. I know how men talk when they think women aren’t around. My husband also worked in a predominately male environments and he probably said disgusting things. We understand male locker room talk…and that was about the best thing the media had on him to make him look bad. It happened 11 years ago, and he was so apologetic over it’s release. Granted, you can take the words of a lot of people and make a montage out of them to paint that person as evil. But we like to look at the results….

I wrote extensively about the positive things we learned about him in my last post, found here. I don’t need to reiterate them. But I will say that the mainstream media has taken his words, many times spoken in his passion for the SAFETY and SECURITY of this nation to made him look evil. I do my own research and find other sources as well as have listened to the entire speeches he has made to decide he is the man for the job. I don’t want to denigrate Hillary, but only to say, I have examined her life as I watched her for her 30 years in government. I just don’t see anything positive she has done to win my vote or confidence.

My hot button issue is “when does life begin?” Granted, President Elect Donald Trump was never a vocal pro-life person until he heard the heartbeat of Americans like myself. He realized this is an important issue, so to show his genuine support, he picked Vice Presidential candidate, Mike Pence, a true warrior for the unborn. Thankfully, that synched it for me….

From the Bible to support my position that life begins at conception:

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”  Jeremiah 1:5

Thus says the LORD, your Redeemer, and the One who formed you from the womb, ‘I, the LORD, am the maker of all things, stretching out the heavens by Myself, and spreading out the earth all alone . . .'” Isaiah 44:24

For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; marvelous are Your works and that my soul knows well. My frame was not hidden from You, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed, and in Your book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them” Psalm 139:13-16

I understand the ravages of abortion. I’m so thankful our Lord and Savior heals us of our sins. Now to pray He heals our land as so many of us have humbled ourselves, repented, sought God’s face and now believe God will use President Elect Donald Trump:

…if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.” 2 Chronicles 7:14

4 thoughts on “President Elect Trump!

  1. I strongly believe that those who voted Trump were right to do so and given my Pro-life leanings I am happy with the choice of him as the next President of the United States. Ultimately, the electorates decided. Vox Populi, Vox Dei.

    I wish to see an America that is God fearing and again find her bearing deeply rooted in the faith. Then America will be great again.

  2. Thanks Debbie, I appreciate the thoughts that motivated this Post Message. Donald Trump needs our support not criticism.

    Very True Debbie what you shared in regards to Abortion too because regardless of how small a person is they have the right to live, God has given them the gift of life.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    • I’m so glad you asked me to write this as the Lord had prompted me! But sometimes He has to get my attention by other means, and in this case, my beautiful Christian Aussie friend!! 😘

Leave a Reply

