My Biggest Problem

Sunday August 6, 2017This was the title of our sermon Sunday, 8/6/2017, at Spotswood Baptist Church (link goes to the sermon). It really spoke to me so I knew I had to write a blog post about it. Maybe it will speak to someone else as well!

Before the sermon started, I looked up the scripture reference, Galatians 2:20:

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”

I love this verse! But it doesn’t give me a clue as to how this relates to my biggest problem. We love our Pastor, Dr. Drew Landry. He is an outstanding teacher. He usually says the sermon is for himself, but this time, he said it’s for all of us! WOW! How does he know ALL of us? We are a bit big, as in a mega church if you go by the fact we have three sermons on Sundays and a huge campus with lots of outreach.

Then he hits us, “What is your biggest problem?”  Many of us wrote down an answer.  I wrote down. “Me.” I am my biggest problem. I just get in the way of God’s work and I think sometimes I really aggravate my husband. Even our oldest grandson has spells where he says, “Don’t talk to me MeeMaw!”  That’s my grandma name. I can tell he’s mad at me for some reason. OUCH! See, I must be my own problem because otherwise, how could I upset these two precious guys???? 

Then the Pastor gives us the answer to his question: It’s SIN! Yep, that word we rarely like to talk about. Then he referred us to Psalm 51, I’m quoting a few verses:

1 Have mercy on me, O God,
    according to your steadfast love;
according to your abundant mercy
    blot out my transgressions.
Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity,
    and cleanse me from my sin!

For I know my transgressions,
    and my sin is ever before me.
Against you, you only, have I sinned
    and done what is evil in your sight,
so that you may be justified in your words
    and blameless in your judgment.

Hide your face from my sins,
    and blot out all my iniquities.
10 Create in me a clean heart, O God,
    and renew a right spirit within me.
11 Cast me not away from your presence,
    and take not your Holy Spirit from me.
12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
    and uphold me with a willing spirit.

16 For you will not delight in sacrifice, or I would give it;
    you will not be pleased with a burnt offering.
17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;
    a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.

What a fabulous Psalm and one I should read daily and memorize! This is a reminder of our sin and it’s nature. The Bible is very clear about sin, but in our culture, it’s not discussed. So I repeat, “it’s nature.” We were all born into sin. Jesus is our answer to the removal of our sin. We are forgiven in God’s sight.

One of my favorite scriptures was written by the Apostle Paul in the book of Romans. He was sharing his own struggles with not doing what he KNEW he should do to please God:

So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. Romans 7:17

The next point he made is our Lord has impeccable timing! YES, agree, His timing is always perfect. And the fact that we are sitting in this church on this date means this sermon is for us….and if you are reading this, it is what you need to read right now!

I just read Jeremiah 1-3 before church – and the most well-know verse also popped into my head at this moment: “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you…” (Jeremiah 1:5a)

But….he asked, WHO IS JESUS? My Lord and Savior!

Is Jesus the person that changes the trajectory of your life? YES, absolutely. Or so I think….He continues to explain:

***Jesus is more believable than my feelings.  Oh, this is a lesson I have learned over and over…”The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.” John 10:10

***Jesus is more believable than my fears.  What do I have to fear? “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.” 1 John 4:8

***Jesus is more believable than my failures. I cannot fail unless I fail to believe in Christ.  “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” -Psalm 73:26

Click on the picture for one of my favorite worship songs:

10,000 Reasons

10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord) by Matt Redman

Let me know how this speaks to you. If you don’t know Jesus, please click here to learn how to ask Him to be your Savior. Let me know if you do!

 

4 thoughts on “My Biggest Problem

  1. This is fabulous! Well said. I also like what your pastor said about how God had calvary and the cross figured out before man was even created.

    “Me” is my biggest problem, too. Sometimes I have to remember that “me” is not my sin, however. Sin is my problem, but in Christ, sin is not “me,” anymore. When I snap at someone, I can honestly say, “I was not myself.” I love that.

    10,000 reasons is also one of my favorite worship songs, right after Amazing Grace. Sing them both and I am in heaven. 🙂

Leave a Reply

